Whitney and Davies

Be swept away by the world of Whitney & Davies, where magic lies beneath the surface of 1920s England, and murder and intrigue lurk around every corner. Maia Whitney and Len Davies join forces to use their magical and detective skills to bring justice to those who cannot seek it for themselves.

Current Books in the Series:

Coming Soon:

  • Death by Disguise (coming 2022)
  • Sorcery & Suspicion (short story collection, coming 2022)

What Readers Are Saying About Whitney and Davies:

“A pleasant mix of Downton Abbey, The Dresden Files, and Right Ho, Jeeves”

“Fans of Dorothy L. Sayers, Patricia C. Wrede, and Georgette Heyer will enjoy these tales of Golden Age Mystery With Magic.”

“This book kept me riveted … The characters are becoming my friends and I am enjoying getting to know them.”

“I read almost compulsively through a dreich, dour day, and felt the better for it.”

“I love the combination of mystery and magic; I felt like I was reading a light-hearted mix of Agatha Christie and J. K. Rowling.”

“I thoroughly enjoyed this romp of a post Great War mystery, full of tributes to my favorite authors of the golden age!”

“Bates combines Campion, Lord Peter and a healthy dose of magic in the character of Len. As for Maia, she had my heart at once; had Barbara Pym ever tried her hand at fantasy I feel sure Maia would have been the result. She is certainly to be numbered among the world’s Excellent Women.”